COUNCIL

Thursday, 23 February 2023

PRESENT – The Mayor, Councillors Ali, Boddy, Dr. Chou, Clarke, Cossins, Crudass, Mrs Culley, Donoghue, Dulston, Durham, Harker, Haszeldine, Heslop, Holroyd, C L B Hughes, L Hughes, Johnson, B Jones, Mrs D Jones, Keir, Laing, Layton, Lee, McCollom, McEwan, Mills, A J Scott, Mrs H Scott, Tostevin, Wallis, Willis and Wright.

APOLOGIES – Councillors Allen, Baldwin, Bartch, Crumbie, Lister, Lucas, Marshall, Newall, K Nicholson, M Nicholson, Renton and Snedker.

ABSENT - Councillors Bell, Paley, Preston, Sowerby and Tait.

68 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST.

Councillors Mrs. D. Jones and Mrs. H. Scott each declared a Non Registerable Interest in Minute 69, below.

TO CONFER THE TITLE OF HONORARY FREEWOMAN ON COUNCILLOR MRS. HEATHER SCOTT, COUNCILLOR MRS. DORIS JONES AND FORMER COUNCILLOR DOROTHY LONG.

The Mayor welcomed Members to the meeting, and advised that, on 26 January 2023, this Council had resolved to hold a Special Meeting to bestow the title of Honorary Freewoman of the Borough on Councillors Mrs. Heather Irene Scott O.B.E. and Mrs. Doris Mary Jones B.E.M., and on former-Councillor Dorothy Claire Long.

RESOLVED – (a) That, in pursuance of the power conferred upon the Council by the Local Government Act 1972, Councillor Mrs. Heather Irene Scott O.B.E. be admitted as an Honorary Freewoman of the Borough of Darlington in recognition of her long and eminent service to the Borough of Darlington.

- (b) That, in pursuance of the power conferred upon the Council by the Local Government Act 1972, Councillor Mrs. Doris Mary Jones B.E.M. be admitted as an Honorary Freewoman of the Borough of Darlington in recognition of her long and eminent service to the Borough of Darlington.
- (c) That, in pursuance of the power conferred upon the Council by the Local Government Act 1972, Dorothy Claire Long be admitted as an Honorary Freewoman of the Borough of Darlington in recognition of her long and eminent service to the Borough of Darlington.

(Note: Over two thirds of the Members present at the meeting voted in favour of each of the above Motions).